Set Time Limits for Predictable Tasks

I have posted some suggestions for getting more work done.

If you’ve never done a particular task before, you might not have any idea how long it will take to complete. Still, it’s a good idea to create your best guess and then set a time limit (with some flexibility) to help you keep on track.

There are other tasks, however, that you CAN set a definite time limit on – and you should do so whenever possible.

  • Answering email can easily turn into a time-draining task if you let it (whether you’re a answering personal or work-related emails). That’s why you should set a daily time limit for yourself to sort through, delete and answer email.

The time limit you set is up to you and it depends on the free time you can devote to this task as well as the actual volume of email you receive. For instance, you may give yourself 15 minutes two (or three) time per day to check and answer email.

  • You might like to do something like watch YouTube videos or read your favorite blogs or forums. These too can eat up your time if you let them. As such, set a time limit for yourself. And if the tasks aren’t necessary to your work, then use your free time (not scheduled work time) to do them.

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Are You Using Review Sites?

Affiliate marketing is a great way to make money online, and even if you don’t have a list of customers who buy every time you email them, you can still make money with affiliate marketing with this cool tactic that I use. I actually have taught my mom to do this in several niches and she uses it to bring in a couple thousand dollars a month. She’s wanting to retire and works a full time job, so I knew I had to come up with something she could do fairly easy.

First, you’ll need to pick a pretty broad niche. Like health, hobbies, etc. Yes, you can even use Internet marketing. That’s actually the niche I use this tactic for.

So, once you have your niche, you need to make sure their are plenty of digital products for your niche. http://www.ClickBank.com, http://www.PayDotCom.com, and http://www.SaleFlurry.com are the three biggest affiliate sites where you can find tons of digital products you can sell as an affiliate.

Pick 1 digital products to start out with. You’re either going to have to buy it or ask the owner for a review copy because you’ll need to write a review for the product. Now this is really important. You’re not writing an ad for the product, you’re writing a review. My suggestion is to go to a place like http://www.EzineArticles.com and read articles about how to write a review before writing your first one.It’s really not that hard, so don’t let that discourage you. Once you get your first one done, all other ones you write will be super easy.

Once you have your product reviewed, and the review written for it, it’s time to create a blog, and post the review to your blog. Make sure you create links so that once the person reads your review, they can buy the product. These will be your affiliate links. I highly recommend getting your own domain name and installing a blog on it.

Okay, so you’ve got a blog with your product review. There’s only one problem. No one is coming to your blog, right? Well here’s where the secrets come in. Just kidding. The secret is there are no secrets. Just tactics you have to learn.

So the first thing I do is use an RSS submitter tool, and submit my blog rss feed to the directories. This will give you some instant traffic.

The second thing I do is pay an article writer to write an article for me on the topic of the product I have reviewed. Once you have your article, there’s one more step you have to take before we use the articles, and that’s keyword research.

You need to find easy to rank for keywords that are related to your product. An easy to rank for keyword is simply a keyword that gets good searches but doesn’t have a lot of competition. There are a lot of software programs online that will help you determine easy to rank for keywords. You’ll need 2-3 easy to rank for keywords per product.

Once you have those, make sure to take one of them and use it to link back to your site in your resource box. This will give you backlinks for that keyword because we’re going to be submitting the article to article directories. Backlinks are important and submitting articles is a great way to get them.

Take your other keywords you have, and use other ways to get backlinks for them. Either have more articles written or learn more ways to get backlinks. Believe me, there are tons of ways to get backlinks and many of them are free.

Once you’ve done this, rinse and repeat with a new product….

What does all of this accomplish?

If you keep writing reviews for your products and putting your affiliate links in the reviews, you’ll make sales on those products by driving traffic the ways I’ve told you. There are tons of ways to drive traffic, but this is the easy method. You’ll get some instant traffic, but by using the backlink tactic, you’ll also get long term traffic as your reviews start ranking for their keywords.

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More Tips to Get More Website Traffic

More website traffic is what we want and then more click thru’s. I do not have a new secrete tip. I am going to list a few tips that have been around awhile and still work. Seeing several tips in one list will benefit some marketers who are familiar with most of the tips. To get more website traffic consider the following:

1.  Publish articles to several  article directories. This will bring traffic from readers  of the published article as well as building backlinks to your site.

2. Submit your site to social bookmarking sites. This should bring quick traffic to your site as well as some backlinks.  I do not always get a backlink from a social bookmarking site.

3.  Use Twitter, Facebook and other social networking sites. This an excellent way to get nore website traffic.Build your friends list and announce new products, blog posts, etc. to your friends. Stay away from any hard sell ideas you may have. I use a semi social site called Qondio. I post a short article – more like a short blog  post along with my website URL and receive a backlink and a picture of my website when I click the link on the search page.

4.  Another way to get more website traffic is to post comments in forums. Find a few forums in your area of interest and post comments and questions. Be sure and read the forum rules for posting. Each forum has it’s own rules. Put your website link in your post signature. Some forms will allow more than one URL in your signature and some will not. Also, some forums have nofollow links.

5.  Submit your URL to all major search engines manually. This is more practical as some directories will not accept software submitted links.

6.  Submit your website to major directories like DMOZ.

7.  Email your list when you update your website or submit a new  post to your blog.

8.  Maintaining a blog enables you to post article frequently with a link to your web site.

9.  Produce and submit videos to the major video web sites. There are may video sites with the most popular being Youtube, Metacafe, and Google. While you are on those sites post comments on other videos you enjoy and leave your site URL with the comment. This should be a fertile place for backlinks as there are many videos in your area of interest to place comments on.

10.   Exchange ads with other webmasters and ezine publishers. This could be a banner ad.

11.   Offer to moderate a section of a forum. A forum which is growing fast may appreciate an offer from you to moderate a section of the forum, in return for free publicity for your site.

12.   Write key word rich press releases. Several of the article directory sites have sections for press releases. Some will even edit your press release – for a fee. There is press release submitting software available for a fee.

Realizing that this is generally a review list of tips to get more website traffic, integrating some of these tips in addition to what you are already doing will bring increased traffic. Use what you are comfortable with and if you find some that work well for you, keep doing it.

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Affiliate Marketing 3 Basic Steps

So you want to start a career in affiliate marketing on the internet. You have read the stories of how several marketers are making a living marketing on the internet with some marketers making a lot of money. Affiliate marketing is a win-win situation for the marketer and the product vendor. The marketer makes a commission selling products he did not manufacture or store and the vendor has an active sales force. By far the most popular form of affiliate marketing involves digital products that can be delivered by download immediately.


Affiliate marketing is doable. Affiliate marketing is simple but not easy. Many successful marketeers became successful after much trail and error and some failures. The following 3 basic step will start you off in the right direction.

Decide on a niche or product. Although it is not absolutely necessary it is best to select a niche that you are familiar and comfortable working with. For instance if you select pets as that is your specialty you then need to narrow the focus to a specific type of dog or maybe to specialized dog training.


You then need to determine the number of people to market to in that niche and if those prospective buyers actually spend money. One way to get an idea to the size and the buying habits of the people is to do an internet search to determine the number of marketers marketing to that niche and what they are marketing. Very few marketers to a niche does not always mean a wide open opportunity for you. It may mean nobody buys.


Look for affiliate vendors. The next step is to select a vendor to represent their products. Some places to look are Clickbank, Commission Junction, Associate Programs and you can also use an internet search to find vendors. Type your keyword+affiliate in the search box. You should have several to choose from. You should look for vendors that have an attractive commission structure( around 50% for digital products) and have sales material available in the form of sales letters, prewritten articles and sample ads and emails. It is sometimes wise to contact the vendor to determine committed to assisting their affiliates.


Promote your site The vendor will have a sales page on the web for you to direct your leads to for more more information and place an order. It is usually best to direct them to your squeeze page first and ask them to opt in so you can send them more information. That way you are developing a mailing list and will be able to correspond with the vendor concerning orders.


There are many ways to promote your affiliate marketing business. It is beyond the scope of this article to adequately cover this subject. There is a lot of help available on the internet. A good way to begin the study of product promotion is to join forums devoted to affiliate and/or internet marketing. I will recommend 2 forums, there are several. Conqueryournichemarketing and associated programs. I have found them very helpful. Be sure to read the rules of the form as some have requirement that others do not have. Some sites on the internet have tutorials and even video tutorials available.

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Pay Per Click Advertising or Article Marketing?

To drive traffic to a website, splash page or blog, most marketers look to pay per click adversing and/or article marketing. Several discussions and studies have concluded that pay per click is more cost effective. Other studies conclude that article marketing is more cost effective. The conclusions reached for both methods may have something to do with who sponsored the studies. Did an article directory or a ppc marketing company sponsor or provide the research. We all tend to summarize or conclude based on information we know best.

With pay per click your ad is placed on search result pages based on the key words that are listed. Granted that your ad could end up on many search engine results pages.

Some advantages or pay per click advertising are:

1.The ad is placed very quickly providing fast feedback.
2.Testing the effectiveness of two or more ads running at the same time is easy to do.
3.Interest in your offer can be determined quickly. Decisions whether to continue or discontinue the promotion can be made in a short period of time.

Some disadvantages of pay per click advertising:

1.Ad costs are determined by the cost of the key words you choose. Some key words bid are as low as $0.05 to a few dollars. This is an area that needs to be studied as there seems to be a science to selecting  key words and managing the cost.
2.Then there is click fraud. With click fraud you pay for the click through even though there is no chance of making a sale.
3.Pay per click ads are very concise. Word smithing is a must. Some advertisers use loud or even obnoxious words in an attempt to draw attention to their ad on the search page.
4.Ad placement on the search results page is largely determined by the keyword bid price. With popular keywords the bid price goes up if ad placement on the first search results is required and even more so if top  four ad placement is necessary.
5.The ad remains as long as the fee is paid. There is no residual effect.

Article marketing:

Article marketing has been a darling of  internet marketers for a long time. The advertising advantages or writing and submitting articles are:
1.The only costs involved would be if a ghost writer was used and if a paid article submitter was used.
2.Can be keyword targeted for higher search engine results page placement.
3.Articles have a residual advertising effect that sometimes can last for years, at no additional cost.
4.Articles use a soft sell approach as apposed to an in your face approach as is some pay per click advertising.
5.Article marketing can establish the writer as an expert in that particular field. It establishes trust.
6.Article  marketing establishes back links to your site and improves the natural SEO ranking.

Some disadvantages to article marketing.
1.It may take several months before results are obtained
2.It is time consuming to write and submit articles to several directories.
3.It requires a fairly good command of the English language and a good spell checker.

The pay per click advertising companies claim the ROI return on investment is higher than article marketing because more targeted traffic gives a higher conversion rate. That determination is not shared be everyone. Article marketers claim that the soft sell approach and longevity of your information being displayed more than offsets the quick results and short life of the ad.

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Use a ToDo List

After prioritized your tasks in order from high priority to low priority, you can turn these list into your to do list.

Chances are, you’ll probably create a pretty long list. This list might include tasks you need to do this month, this week and even today. And it will probably include both personal and professional goals (which you should rank in order of importance so you can attach a high, medium or low priority to each task).

Here are the keys to making a good to do list that will keep you on track and help you avoid getting overwhelmed:

1. Break up your overall list into mini-lists. How many mini lists you create really depends on how many tasks you have on your overall list as well as how long it will take to complete those tasks. At a minimum you should have a daily, weekly and monthly to do list.

2. Break up your big tasks into smaller, manageable tasks. Your monthly to do list might include some pretty big tasks. But when you create your weekly and daily to do lists, you should break these big tasks into smaller “bite size” chunks. (This is especially important when you’re creating your daily to do lists.)

Let me give you a few examples…

Example #1: Let’s suppose you wanted to write a report or a short book. Your monthly to-do list might simply include the entry, “Write a short book about eco-friendly travel.” Your weekly to-do list might include entries like, “Write the first three chapters of the book.” But your daily to do list should be broken up into manageable mini tasks such as: outline chapter 1; write the introduction for chapter 1; research chapter 1… and so on.

Example #2: Now let me give you a personal example. Let’s suppose you want to clean and organize your house from top to bottom. While your weekly to do lists might include big tasks like clean the living room, your daily to do lists should break this big task into smaller steps. For example: shampoo the carpet; wash the curtains; clean the blinds; dust the shelves… and so on.

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What Does it Take to Make Money on Line?

We have all heard it takes money to make money. There is some truth to that statement. With internet marketing or specifically affiliate internet marketing the start up money needs can be small. There are several good and reliable web site hosting companies available for under $10.00 a month. Domain registration for $10.00 or less and an autoresponder for $15. to $20.00 a month. There are several free html editors available to construct a web site. Consider using a free Blogger Blog or a Wordpress Blog. With blogger even the hosting is free.

Very few affiliate marketers succeed. That is an unpleasant statistic we keeping hearing. While some marketers enjoy a good income from affiliate marketing the majority do not. I read from time to time that 95% of internet marketers make very little or no money. Is there a solution to this. Why do some succeed and some do not.

We can understand more about why some do and some do not by reading about how the successful marketers became successful. Most of the successful marketers are proud of their success and will share their stories. Many of the stories have similar structure. There are many rags to riches stories. The common theme in all the stories is how they tried and failed in their internet marketing efforts. Some failed often and some failed leaving a large debt. All to often we read of there stories as they want to now sell the would be marketers the same system that they use to climb to the top.

Just a precautionary note, the same system may not work for everybody. What I really want to point out is that they all met failure and some times failure after failure before meeting with success. David Vallieres wrote an ebook entitled “Fail as Fast as Possible”. His main point is to take action and if that action does not produce the desired results (failure) take another action. Keep doing that until you get it figured out. He also advises to spend as little money as possible doing that. The faster you fail the faster you will get the results you want. Some times that is expressed as hang in there or keep on keeping on.

Don’t confuse the above advise with those that jump from one promotion to another trying to find something that works right off. Although that is taking action and failing fast, that is not the intent of the recommendations given above. The intent is to take action to determine what will work for you and what will not work for you. The intent is to keep building on what you have gained from the previous action. There is a time to discard the approach you are taking if you can not make it work and to develop and take action on another approach using what you have learned.

The magic seems to be in attitude and persistence. Remember failure is not an option and it is always to early to quit. Take action and evaluate that action. Revise your strategy in the light of what you have learned.

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Set Aside Time For Work

After we  know our best and most productive times of the day to work, our next step is to actually set aside and schedule blocks of time to work on our to do lists.

You see, it’s NOT good enough to merely say, “Here’s my to do list… I’ll do it tomorrow.” (This is especially true for those tasks where you don’t already have a routine in place.)

Instead, what you need to do is –

Actually set aside and commit to working on these tasks

during a specific time period.

And I DO mean specific: You should schedule your exact start time and minimum end time (e.g., “9:00am until noon”). Then write it on your calendar, take note of it on your smart phone, or enter it into your electronic scheduler.

Treat this scheduled time as you would an important appointment – in other words, DON’T be late! DON’T blow it off. DON’T schedule other tasks over it. If someone else wants to intrude on this time, let them know you already have something else planned.

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Cost Per Action Marketing

Cost per action marketing is being touted as being much more beneficial than the tried and true cost per click advertising. Although cost per action or CPA as it is referred to is not a new method of marketing it has become quite popular. So what does it mean, how does it work and should I use it.

For an illustration consider a company wishing to expand their product sales. Traditionally they would develop an advertising campaign to have customers contact them for more information. Once they have the contact information the company can provide additional information and keep following up on the contact.

The company will keep tract on the money spent on the advertising campaign and managing the campaign. Money spent on the campaign divided by the number of sales leads it produced will give a dollar figure of how much it costs to acquire a single lead. For example if the advertising campaign and managing the campaign cost $10,000 and the campaign produced a thousand leads the cost per lead would be $10.00. Conceivably then the company working through a cost per action marketing network could offer up to $10.00 per lead.

The fee is paid for an action taken on the part of the one inquiring about the product or service. This action could involve signing up for a newsletter, free report, more information or even purchasing the product. When the action is taken the company can now work the lead for about the same cost as before and maybe even less.

Wow! $10.00 an action, affiliate marketers could really make some money with that. Well yes and /or maybe. There is money to be made with cost per action marketing. Remember the company initially was spending money running and managing advertising campaigns to acquire leads. The affiliate marketer will have to do something like that to acquire leads. Affiliate marketers may have an advantage as this is what they do and they have developed marketing strategies that work for them. Although because of their expertise they will be able to minimize costs associated with acquiring the leads there will still be costs involved with setting up websites, providing a splash page, an effective sales page, and advertising expenses. Often the affiliate marketer will use pay per click (PPC) advertising to drive traffic to his lead capture page. If the cost of promoting your offer is less than the cost per action premium, then and only then have you made money.

If we compare cost per action marketing to cost per click marketing some of the differences stand out. Cost per click marketing say using adwords provides several alternative adverts to click. There are more chances of getting someones attention. Granted the revenue from clicking a cpc ad is much less than if an action is taken with a cpa ad. The cpa clicks are much harder to come by. It is important to give this some thought. The same effort should go into selecting a cost per action marketing nich as you would put into selecting a nich to market your product. Pitching your product to a nich where the people have a history of not spending any money will produce the same results no matter what you are promoting. If you are confident and feel you know what you need to do and feel that cost per action marketing is for you especially after you have done your homework then go for it.

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Productive Work Time

When is the best time to do your work?

Maybe you do it because that’s a quiet time for you – no one else is around. Or maybe you do it because it’s the only free block of time you have available.


So what can you do?


You need to figure out what factors really harm your productivity and which factors you can work around and still be efficient. Maybe you find that you can’t get anything done in the morning because you’re not a morning person. And even though your home or office is bustling with activity in the afternoon, perhaps you find you can get things done just because you’re more alert.

Point is –

You need to take ALL factors into consideration

and figure out your very best working time.


Most of us have a pretty good idea about what times of the day we’re most productive.


Yet we don’t always schedule our work around those good times of the day. And that can turn into a great big waste of time.


Let’s suppose you’re not a morning person. You’re very aware of this fact. It takes three cups of coffee before your eyes even open. And forget about trying to focus on anything important before noon. Even if your eyes finally open, you’re walking around like the living dead all morning.


And yet you find yourself scheduling tasks that require focus and concentration during the morning hours… even though you know it’s a largely unproductive time for you.

In some cases, you may need to shuffle your schedule around. If, for example, you’re NOT a morning person – and if you’ve scheduled some sort of writing task in the morning just because it’s your only available time – you need to shuffle your schedule around so that you can do certain tasks when you’re best able to perform them.

Maybe that means moving your gym workout to a morning timeslot (since exercising doesn’t require any concentration). Then you can do your focused tasks in the evening (instead of going to the gym).

Tip: Sometimes you may find that you have to sacrifice certain tasks or activities in order to save time and be more productive on your higher priority tasks. But if you’ve prioritized your tasks – and as you learn to become more efficient using the tips in this report – you’ll find that these sacrifices are temporary… or not really much of a sacrifice at all.

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